ValueError: The current client does not have a dataselect service

I’m a new beginner in learning Obspy, and recently I’ve faced some troubles.
I try to download data from IRIS, but the error shows that the current client does not have a dataselect service. And I don’t know what to do next, is there any solution to solve this problem?

my code:
from obspy.clients.fdsn import Client
client = Client(‘IRIS’)
from obspy import UTCDateTime
starttime = UTCDateTime(‘2016-07-01T00:00:00’)
endtime = UTCDateTime(‘2016-07-15T00:00:00’)
net = “OO”
sta = ‘HYS11’
loc = ‘–’
chan = ‘SHZ’
st = client.get_waveforms(net, sta, loc, chan, starttime, endtime)
print(st)
st.plot()

result:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/Users/kuyie/test1.py”, line 21, in
File “/Users/kuyie/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/obspy/clients/fdsn/client.py”, line 830, in get_waveforms
raise ValueError(msg)
ValueError: The current client does not have a dataselect service.

Your prompt and favorable attention to my question would be highly appreciated.

Managed to download a 1-minute sample of the data with the following code:

from obspy.clients.fdsn import Client
client = Client('IRIS')
from obspy import UTCDateTime
starttime = UTCDateTime('2016-07-01T00:00:00')
endtime = UTCDateTime('2016-07-01T00:01:00')
net = 'OO'
sta = 'HYS11'
loc = ''
chan = 'SHZ'
print(st)
st.plot()

Changes to your initial script include:

1. Swapped the and quotes with ' ones - however this might be a problem only on my end.
  2. Changed the endtime value to a minute after starttime (this was done purely for running the code faster).
  3. Corrected the value of loc - from my experience, you either specify a 2-digit location code (e.g. 00, 01) or leave it blank (i.e. ''). Using either - or -- won’t work (even though you might see the latter used instead of blanks in some metadata files). In your case, the location code is blank!