Unable to install obspy on RHEL 6.4

I have a clean Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.4 system. I’m a novice Python/ObsPy/easy_install/pip user.

I was able to install all the dependencies (https://github.com/obspy/obspy/wiki/Installation-on-Linux%3A-Dependencies) without issue with sudo yum. I was also able to update distribute as mentioned at https://github.com/obspy/obspy/wiki/Installation-on-Linux-via-PyPI. I am able to import numpy, scipy, lxml, suds, matplotlib etc.

But here is what happens when I try to add obspy:

[thompsong@feynman ~]$ sudo easy_install obspy
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/usr/bin/easy_install”, line 9, in
load_entry_point(‘distribute’, ‘console_scripts’, ‘easy_install’)()
File “/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/setuptools-1.1.6-py2.6.egg/pkg_resources.py”, line 357, in load_entry_point
return get_distribution(dist).load_entry_point(group, name)
File “/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/setuptools-1.1.6-py2.6.egg/pkg_resources.py”, line 2393, in load_entry_point
raise ImportError(“Entry point %r not found” % ((group,name),))
ImportError: Entry point (‘console_scripts’, ‘easy_install’) not found
[thompsong@feynman ~]$ python
Python 2.6.6 (r266:84292, May 27 2013, 05:35:12)
[GCC 4.4.7 20120313 (Red Hat 4.4.7-3)] on linux2
Type “help”, “copyright”, “credits” or “license” for more information.

So next I tried to install with pip using:

[thompsong@feynman ~]$ sudo pip install obspy

This seemed to work - hundreds of lines of output terminated with a message that obspy had been successfully installed. But when I try to import, nothing was found:

[thompsong@feynman ~]$ python
Python 2.6.6 (r266:84292, May 27 2013, 05:35:12)
[GCC 4.4.7 20120313 (Red Hat 4.4.7-3)] on linux2
Type “help”, “copyright”, “credits” or “license” for more information.

import obspy
File “”, line 1, in
ImportError: No module named obspy

I notice that pip install added the following to /usr/bin:

[thompsong@feynman ~]$ ls -l /usr/bin/obs*