Questions on instrument response removal

Hello,

I am trying to remove the instrument response from a mseed file after merge the data but when I plot the signal after remove the response the data is still in count. Can any help me to undestand what i am doing wrong?

This is the code I made. I am new in Python and Obspy so please be kind.

from obspy import read, read_inventory
from glob import glob
import os
import matplotlib

st = read(“CW.NMDO.00.HHZ.D.2020.002”)
st.merge(method=0, fill_value=0)
st.plot()
inv = read_inventory(“RESP.CW.NMDO.00.HHZ”)
st.remove_response(inventory=inv, plot=True)
st.plot()
st.write(“mseednoresp.mseed”, format=“MSEED”)
st= read(“mseednoresp.mseed”)
st.plot()

The figure shows the signal before removing the response 1(sac format), 2(mseed fromat) and signal after removing the response 3(sac format), 4(mseed format). Signal 3 is in nm/s and signal 4 in counts.

Any sugestion it would help.
Thanks!

obspy uses SI units, so removing the response with velocity output goes to m/s. Try comparing with the other signal after multiplying with 1e09.

for tr in st:
    tr.data *= 1e9

Thanks for answering. I tried what you recommend but when I plot the signal with SeisGram the amplitude is still in counts and the shape of the signal changes a bit. I compared with the same signal in sac format after correcting the response in sac and the signals are a bit different (mseed signal in count and with a low frequency component), the sac signal is in nm/s and no low frequency component.

Two things here:

A) When you write back your instrument corrected data, MiniSEED format has no means to indicate that the instrument response has been removed in the meantime. You need to keep track yourself what you did to the data. So when you load that data into seisgram, the program is just taking a guess what the data units are and probably just defaults to “counts” since it has no way to tell otherwise.