Converting .wav into a Mini-SEED format file

Hi there,

I am currently working on audio files (.wav) with recordings of earthquakes. I am new in ObsPy and I would like to know if it is possible to convert a .wav into a Mini-SEED format file.
With the obspy.io.wav package is possible to read and convert Mini-SEED in WAV file format. However, I did not find any function in this package doing the reverse.
Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!
Best, Mary

Should work just the same…

from obspy import read

st = read('my_file.wav')
st.write('my_file.mseed', format='MSEED')

Thank you very much!
That’s work!
Best, Marianna.

Hi there,

I have a new problem with this file conversion. What I am using to open these miniSEEDs after conversion is the program SEISAN, which needs integer numbers and the encoding STEIM2 (11 ).

I found this post in the forum which explains a bit the issue, but it does not solve it for me:

I tried:

1. Using line stat before write command:
    ST.stat.mseed = {‘encoding’: ‘STEIM2’, ‘byteorder’: ‘>’}
    ST.write(‘Eq89.mseed’, format=‘MSEED’, encoding=11)

I got in the first line this error:
AttributeError: ‘Stream’ object has no attribute ‘stat’

1. Using directly command: ST.write(‘Eq89.mseed’, format=‘MSEED’, encoding=11)
    I get this other error:
    Exception:
    Wrong dtype for Stream[0].data for encoding INT32.
    Please change the dtype of your data or use an appropriate
    encoding. See the obspy.io.mseed documentation for more
    information.

Any help will be very much appreciated!
Thank you!
Best, Marianna.

1. You shouldn’t need the first line, specifying the encoding in the write command should be enough.