Get me going, please!

I’m new to ObsPy. I have a jAmaSeis setup through Wine64 on Ubuntu 20.04 with three years of data from an Infiltec QM-4.5LV seismometer.

My immediate goal is to learn how to read the .sac files with ObsPy, generate png files, and ftp the files to my website every 5 minutes. Later, I would like to learn how to analyze the data for resonance.

If someone could just point me to a clear tutorial or manual that directly addresses my interests, it would be much appreciated. :slight_smile:

The most relevant Tutorials to start with are pointed out at the top of the Tutorial section of our documentation: https://docs.obspy.org/tutorial/index.html

You probably want to start with these notebooks or with the youtube video. The notebooks are conveniently packed together in a github repository: https://github.com/obspy/docs/tree/master/workshops

If you dont have ObsPy installed yet, these notebooks are on seismo-live, too

Hi and thanks for the response.

I do have ObsPy already installed and I am ready to go. I also came across the YouTube video you linked to in my search for information; I tried listening to the video, but I cannot understand the speakers due to my hearing loss. I tried reading the ObsPy tutorial page, but apparently it assumes a knowledge of Python, and I am new to Python.

What I need is a template relevant to my equipment and installation so I can see what is happening, and then follow up by reading relevant material. For the simple setup I am seeking, I cannot justify giving a week or month of my full time to learn the entire Python language, and how it works with seismometers. I’m hoping that the thrill of seeing an operational system on my own computer will draw me in.

I have just read the notebooks you linked to. Although they seem promising, key data from the notebooks are missing.