beamforming -paz (complete question)

Hello,

I am new to obspy and I think I need a little help.
I am trying to perform a beamforming.

I have taken as a basis the example in the tutorial
http://docs.obspy.org/master/tutorial/code_snippets/beamforming_fk_analysis.html

The only things I changed were

1. Reading the data. : I read the traces from 8 stations in miniseed format using
    st = read(“PATH/Station*.2013.144”)

2. I changed the coordintaes of the stations. For example, I put

st[0].stats.coordinates = AttribDict({
‘x’: 582651.442,
‘y’: 4252226.251,
‘elevation’: 143.013})

I have done this for st[0] until st[7]

1. For the poles and zeros, I wasn’t very sure what to use so I put for all stations :

st[1].stats.paz = AttribDict({
‘poles’: [(-0.03736 - 0.03617j), (-0.03736 + 0.03617j)],
‘zeros’: [0j, 0j],
‘sensitivity’: 1.0,
‘gain’: 1.0})

The rest, I left it the same as in the example, and I get an error that is : KeyError ‘paz’.

Do any of you have an idea of what I am doing wrong? Or where I can read to get a hint on how to solve my problem?

I apologize if the question is too basic and I thank you in advance for your help,
Clara

http://geoazur.oca.eu/Castellanos_C
+33 04 83 61 86 62
Géoazur
Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis

Dear Clara,

As I was testing that, I figured that if you read the dictionary without first assigning a value to it, this error was raised.

For example:

s = read()
s[0].stats.paz = "test"
print s[0].stats.paz #no error occurred

But if you do:

s = read()
print s[0].stats.paz # KeyError: 'paz'

So, check if you first assigning the value and then you read it.
Best Regards,